Unbridled Joy

So I’m taking a short break from work to let my blood pressure work its way back down from the stratosphere. Here’s what swabbies do for enjoyment.

I discovered that the master switch to the engine room lights was wired backward, so it was on when it said off. I took out the panel, reversed the wires, no big deal, and screwed it back in … at which point the water pipe to the panel started leaking. Just a small steady spray.

Why is there a water pipe to an electrical panel? In a word … China. Who knows? It’s supposed to let you see if you have water to the windshield wipers … go figure.

So, I turned off the water pump, and Abraham grabbed the mop when he heard me saying bad words, we cleaned up the mess …

I figured, no problem. There was a small crack in the plastic line. I cut off the bad part, reassembled it, tightened it down … puta cabrón, still leaking.

I took it off again. It looked like it had had some sealant in it back in the day. So I got a tube of sealant that was still soft … but it refused to come out.

I found a chopstick and put it down into the tube ’til I hit good sealant. Started to squeeze out a bit … when the other end of the tube blew out, and a big glob of sealant hit the fan, as they say.

I discovered that I knew even more bad words, ones that I hadn’t even thought of in some time, involving anatomically improbable sexual acts, mixed with speculations as to the probable ancestry and unclean personal habits of whoever put the water pipe on the electrical panel … but I digress.

So after cleaning lovely red-brown sealant off of my hand and other spots, I put the sealant on, tightened it down again … still leaking! Orale pues! I figured it must not be tight enough, it’s a compression fitting. So I cranked down a bit more, one last bit … and caracoles, the whole fitting snapped in half and water started spraying everywhere. I put my thumb over the end … bad move, the fitting was too large for my thumb to seal, and all I did was increase the distance the spray traveled …

It’s a good thing that my cardiologist wasn’t watching … because he’d have had a heart attack at that point. Me, I was rendered totally speechless.

So I dived for the water pump switch again, and Abraham got the mop again, and we cleaned up again.

Then, of course, because I’d tightened it down solid, the expletive deleted hose wouldn’t come off the remaining half of the fitting. It required a plethora of unpleasant language to pry it off.

Of course, I don’t have any kind of fitting to cap the pipe off. I spent about ten minutes trying and measuring different things. I finally stuck the handle of a paintbrush in the pipe, threw on a couple of hose clamps, and cut it off short. Here’s the aftermath.

electrical panel ICE.png

 

Broken hose with paintbrush handle at top left. Steering wheel at left. Bucket at the bottom. The potrzebie fitting the pipe used to go to is at the left of the panel. I’ve got the panel open to dry out … so far, so good.

Hey, do I know how to have fun, or what?

Best of this crazy life to everyone. I’ll write this evening on larger matters, but I had to take a moment to let the madness pass. Now, back to work …

w.

13 thoughts on “Unbridled Joy

    • Yeah, I’ve been considering those. They run a vent fan for the engine room. I suspect that at some time in the past either it shorted out or it jammed. However, I’ve checked during regular running and they’ve run as cool as the rest of the panel.

      Or maybe the water line was for cooling water to the switch …

      My best to you as always. For those who don’t know him, I post my scientific writings over at Anthony’s wonderful blog, Watts Up With That. Three years running voted “Best Scientific Blog On The Web”. If you haven’t been there you should go.

      w.

      Liked by 2 people

    • I’m glad to hear that, John. My goal in my writing is to somehow bring the reader along with me as I wander through interesting parts of this life, so that they feel like they’re standing beside me as it is happening.

      Best wishes,

      w.

      Like

      • Willis I’m really glad I wasn’t standing beside you! I’ve had some of that and I’m impressed you didn’t resort to throwing things……..

        Like

      • And you do an excellent job. I hope you are never overcome with the urge to chronicle your experience unclogging a busted head.

        Like

  1. Amazing, there must be something universal here. This is exactly the sequence of events. That occurs when I try to fix anything.

    You did leave out the missing the last rung on the ladder and injuring your back, but I figure you will get around to it.

    Thanks so much for your work to share the truth.

    Like

  2. I traded flying airplanes for a sailboat 14 yrs ago and quickly learned Murphy’s Law and the art of making do with whatever you have.. sometimes successfully and sometimes not so much. Captain Ron had it right when he said “Don’t worry, if something goes wrong, it will go wrong out there”.

    My friend has a similar size boat as mine but with 5 times the complexity. From that I learned simple is better.

    Land people don’t realize when you pull away from the dock you are on your own. But at least I have the luxury of putting up a sail if it all breaks and sooner or later, I will get somewhere.

    Love your stories. Hope you have fair weather and calm seas.

    Like

  3. Hello Willis,
    thank you for all of your writings, they are always enjoyable to read and often educational. Seems that Murphy is always watching and waiting for those “simple” projects so that he can muck them up with some absurd complication. I am beginning to believe Murphy is either part or wholly leprechaun since he seems to only make his presence known/felt when I am not looking out for him. Wishing you and yours safe and enjoyable travels!

    Cheers!

    Joe

    Like

  4. There is a theory of 10 minutes of destruction: Everybody has a 10-minute period of destruction a day. Whatever you touch during those 10 minutes, goes wrong or worse. Best, sit it out – even better, meditate. Most important, you survived – today. Good luck and many more Black Russians.

    Like

  5. “Potrzebie”…

    With a name like Eschenbach, you might even know what it means. I didn’t – didn’t know it actually meant anything; probably like you, I first saw it used as a mild expletive in Mad Magazine many, many years ago (don’t know how long – they hadn’t invented numbers back then). It’s Polish for “interpreter”, and you see it in airports occasionally.

    You’re welcome 😉

    Like

You are invited to add your comments. Please QUOTE THE EXACT WORDS YOU ARE DISCUSSING so we can all be clear on your subject.